JL Chair program

The first two Chairs were announced in 2016: Prof Dan Ariely, world-renowned behavioral economist from Duke University, and Prof Mark Dybul, Executive Director at the Global Fund to fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria. Both highly distinguished professors will apply their specialist backgrounds to conduct research to make healthcare more affordable and accessible. The collaboration with Dan Ariely started in 2016 while he was officially appointed Chair on 1 January 2017. Mark Dybul indicated that he would start as Joep Lange Chair after he resigned as Executive Director of the Global Fund. He was officially appointed Chair as of 1 July 2017.

Following the appointment of the first two Chairs, two additional candidates were identified and appointed as Chairs in 2018. Prof Anna Vassal was confirmed as the third Joep Lange Chair and appointed to the position on 1 February 2018. She focuses on assessing the economic impact of innovative interventions in health and healthcare financing. Dr Catherine Kyobutungi was appointed as the fourth Joep Lange Chair as of 1 July 2018 focusing on the management and prevention of non-communicable diseases, in particular Cardiovascular Disease (CVD).